top of page

Summer Berries

I am honestly not a big fan of berries. I think it's the texture, the seeds. I love the flavor and I'll eat them in things but I've never been a big fruit gal. Maybe it's because I'm allergic to all tropical fruit (sad I know). There is no way I would sit down and eat a handful of berries. Unless they are fresh from the vine! My Dad recently moved out to a farm in Monroe; and he has a ton of berries in his backyard. They were there when he moved in but we've taken great care of the yard since and have really prospered. Everytime I come visit I check on the garden and help water and weed, I love it! I can't wait to have my own home with a huge garden. It's just so rewarding growing your own food. Earlier in the summer the strawberries came first, then the raspberries and blueberries. My dad and boyfriend have just been snacking on them non stop, but I needed some other ways to use the berries. Like Jam, Pie & Cocktails. I have yet to make jam, but it's next on my list. But here is my pie recipe and some of the fun cocktails I've made!

One of the ways I used up the berries was by making a pie of course! At this point I had minimal strawberries so it was 45% Blueberries, 45% Raspberries and 10% Strawberries. I was really impressed with my design on top and I honestly can't remember what I did!! It did look a little Twin Peakish huh? I did use a store bought crust (shame, shame) but my dad has no materials required to make a pie crust, he doesn't even own a casserole dish. Here is my recipe below:

 

Mixed Berry Pie

Ingredients:

-Two pie crusts (One for top)

-3/4 Cup Sugar

-1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

-2 cups Blueberries

-2 Cups Raspberries

-1/2 Cup Strawberries

-1 teaspoon lime juice

-1/3 Cup Flour

-2 Tablespoons Butter

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Mix sugar, flour, and cinnamon. Stir in berries to coat, then add lime juice and mix. Try not to overmix and breakdown the berries too much. Pour the filling into the crust-lined pan and dot with butter. Cover with top crust; any design you want or cover entirely with second crust. If you do this make sure you cut holes for the steam to escape. Seal the crust and flute the edges. You can cover the edges of the crust with foil to prevent over-browning. Bake in the preheated oven until the crust is golden brown and the juices are bubbling, about 35 minutes. Remove foil during the last 10 minutes of baking. Serve with whipped cream or ice cream or both!

 

Another way I have been using the berries is in cocktails!! I have been using them as garnish and i've been muddling (smashing) them into drinks! My 3 months as a bartender did teach me something!! I'm a big fan of Bacardi White Rum & Stoli Vodka, they are my go to's. But here are a few of my favorite drinks I've made with the berries. For the most part I just mix stuff I have on hand together, you don't need to be a bartender to make a good drink, just a lot of liquor! My absolute favorite is on the bottom!!

Orange Raspberry Creamsicle

-Vodka

-Muddled Raspberries

- Pina Colada Mix

-OJ

Summertime Sadness

-Muddled Blueberries

-White Rum

-Fresca

-Blueberry Lemonade

Berry Banger

(In a small glass)

-Muddled Strawberries & Raspberries

-Vodka

-Fresca

-Raspberry Lemonade

-Lemon Wedge

Summer Zing

-Limeade with chopped cilantro and jalapeno slices (do this the night before)

-Muddled Strawberries

-White Rum

bottom of page