top of page

Long Weekend in Canada

Living in Washington and being so close to British Columbia you would think I'd have visited at some point, but I hadn't. So this year my best friend Colin and I decided to start a new tradition of having a besties weekend! We honestly stole the idea from his mom Gina and her best friend. Colin's birthday is may 11th and mine is the 27th so we thought the weekend in between would be perfect to take our trip! Since I'd never been to Canada we changed our plans last minute and decided to go. We left without reservations for anywhere, and a vague idea of where we wanted to go. We wanted to head up the sky to sea highway and find a place to camp somewhere before we hit Whistler.

Half our motivation to go to Canada was to check out the Twin Peaks themed vegetarian bvar they have in Vancouver, The Black Lodge. This was the tiniest little bar I'd ever seen but it was amazing inside. The decor screamed early 90's camping trip. The drinks and food were served on those speckled steel/enamel camping ware. The food was decent and the price was fair. But I'm sorry toasted coconut is not a good substitute for bacon, okay vegetarians?

By the time we got to the campground we wanted to stay at it was almost 9pm. At this point we had heard a couple people say the words long weekend but we didn't know what they meant. We knew our long weekend was the next week, memorial day but whatever. Until we almost didn't get a campsite. The host Rick was able to find us a nice private little site that we had to hike down into, literally the last one available. And in my opinion the best one in the whole campground. We we started to unpack the full time RVers next to us started up chatting with us. They told us we were lucky to get a spot on long weekend! At this point it was driving me mad that I didn't know what long weekend was, so I walked up to the entrance where wifi was to google it. In hindsight I should have just asked those people but I'm an independant woman I can google it myself. Turns out it was Victoria Day AKA The Queen's Birthday, a canadian holiday. I felt pretty stupid, considering my boyfriend's mom is from Alberta. But it became the joke of the trip. On a billboard we saw "It's long weekend, it's gonna be in tents!" and we were crying laughing at the stupid pun.

Our campground was the Our campground was the Klahanie campground near Squamish. It was directly across from Canada's third biggest waterfall Shannon Falls. We hiked up to Shannon falls on our second day there, it was a short hike with a couple stair but it was fun. We also checked out the town of Squamish after we bought a meat pie to share for breakfast at the campground. We had some local coffee, checked out an open air market and of course raided the Dollar Tree for Canadian snacks that we will have a youtube video of us trying very soon!! I got my favorite dessert from the grocery store Nanaimo Bars! And later in the evening Colin got to try Poutine for the first time! Overall we had a blast and surprisingly nothing devastating happened, nothing went wrong! (I did forget my passport but remembered 5 minutes after we left thank god) This is very rare for us!! And we made it back home for the premiere of Twin Peaks! Canada was a ton of fun and I can't wait to go back AND GET MORE TIM HORTON'S. As I'm tying I realized I almost left out the glory that is Tim Horton's. We had to wait in line over 20 minutes on Sunday morning to get out bacon breakfast sammies and Ice Capps but oh my god is it worth it. And this is coming from two ex-starbucks employees. Tim Hortons is a beautiful beautiful place and I'm upset I can't have it right now.

bottom of page