top of page

Spring Makeup Trend: Matte Pink Lips

Confession: I am addicted to liquid lipstick. And someone please try to give me a reason not to be, that's right, you can't. I love the no fuss way most formulas dry and that sleek matte finish. I've tried a lot of different brands and had quite a few hits and a couple misses. My favorite affordable drug store formula is probably Revlon. As for luxury makeup I am obsessed with Jeffree Star and Tarte. I'm definitely a pink lip girl vs. red; and spring is the best time to start busting out those bright pinks. I just recently was sent a sample of Tarte's matte lip paint in my Ipsy bag last month and not I need to buy the full size. I received the color Rose', a rosy nude.

Wearing Tarte lip paint in Rose'

The formula is probably my favorite liquid lip formula I've tried, yes I like it more than the Jeffree Star formula which even surprised me. It is just so smooth and velvety, and it doesn't dry out my lips at all. This color (Rose') is a great color for everyday wear, it's not too in your face. I love it with a simple eye look and a bright highlighter. You can buy it here, for $20. And if you've never ordered from Tarte they give you $10 off your first order. When your there also grab my other makeup essentials. Tarte Amazonian Clay Foundation and the Amazonian Clay Waterproof Brow Mousse. I'll go more into my daily makeup routine in an upcoming post.

 

Jeffree Star had been someone I've followed since his myspace emo music days. (Yes I was a hard core Emo kid, MCR for life) I've been using his makeup since it first came out and never once have I been disappointed. I have at least half of his liquid lip colors and a couple of the Lip Ammunitions. One of my favorite pinks is Doll Parts. (Obviously inspired by the band Hole) The site's description of the color says it best: "This soft cool toned pink looks like Lindsay Lohan's life in the movie Mean Girls." It's pretty bright but with a nice black liner on the eyes you'll be looking better tahn Regina George could even dream of. You can buy it here for $18. My advice is make a big order from the website and get the colors you want before they sell out because they really do sell out fast sometimes. Then you only have to pay for shipping once!

 

Another Jeffree Star Pink I love is Rose' Matter. It's a more subtle pink with a nice peachy tone. I wore it this Easter Sunday! You can buy it here for $18. "This soft neutral coral is like crushed petals on your lips. So soft. So addicting."

 

Now I only have tried two colors from the lip ammunition collection by Jeffree Star. These are more traditional lipsticks so you can leave kiss marks! They still have the nice matte finish and come in a cute bullet shape container. Of course both colors I have are pink. I like the shade Ex-Supermodel, a soft nude pink with a matte finish. It's brighter than you think though! You can buy it here for $18.

 

I also recommend using a lip liner with all of these colors. It keeps the lines clean and helps avoid over lining them like Kylie Jenner. If you don't have liner that matches the colors I would invest in a nude liner like the Wonder Stick by NYX. It's only $4.50 and you can get it at Target or online here. It comes in 3 shades and has multiple uses, it's a must have in my makeup bag. "Conquer 3 critical make-up tasks with one product: CONCEAL flaws and blemishes with creamy precision; LINE your lips against lipstick bleeding and fading; and BRIGHTEN your eyes along the water line."

 

bottom of page